IUPUC professor awarded for Outstanding Leadership and Mentoring of Undergraduates

March 19, 2018
The image caption follows

On January 24 Dr. Julie Goodspeed-Chadwick, IUPUC Division of Liberal Arts, received notification that she is the 2017/18 recipient of the Kathryn J. Wilson Award for Outstanding Leadership and Mentoring of Undergraduates.

Annually, a gift of $1000 is awarded to an individual who has made significant contribution promoting undergraduate research. The award was created by Dr. Wilson created the award as the CRL Director’s Award for Outstanding Leadership and Mentoring of Undergraduate Research. When she retired in 2012, the executive director, Dr. Richard E. Ward, renamed the award in her honor and after her retirement, she and her husband generously funded the award.

The four IUPUC students nominating Goodspeed-Chadwick include Brandi Rund, Emily Pedigo, Courtney Watkins and Bailey Burnett.

Student nominee, Brandi Rund, offers the following, “Participating in one-on-one mentoring sessions with Dr. Goodspeed-Chadwick allows me to set goals, ask questions, and receive immediate feedback concerning my work on presentations for the ICESA conference and Sylvia Plath conference. Julie is encouraging when challenging situations arise and provides direction for improving the outcome by talking through scenarios while empowering me to make the best decision for my presentation. With Julie’s guidance, I am gaining more self-confidence than I ever imagined.” 

Dr. Goodspeed-Chadwick and the nominating students celebrated as guests at the CRL Awards Luncheon at the IUPUI University Club on Friday, February 16, 2016, with Dr. Kathryn and Mr. Daniel Wilson in attendance and Dr. Simon Atkinson, IUPUI Vice Chancellor for Research, provided opening remarks.