The IUPUC Division of Education among 46 Teacher Prep Programs Recognized for National Excellence in Educator Prep

June 12, 2018
The image caption follows

June 7, 2018                                                                  

Dr. Jennifer Conner
Division Head

IUPUC Division of Education

The IUPUC Division of Education now 1 of 147 providers in the U.S. meeting new, rigorous CAEP national accreditation standards to better prepare tomorrow’s teachers

WASHINGTON – The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) announced today that the IUPUC Division of Education is one of 46 providers from 22 states and Puerto Rico to receive accreditation for their educator preparation programs. The spring 2018 review by the CAEP Accreditation Council increased to 147 the total number of providers approved under the CAEP teacher preparation standards—rigorous, nationally recognized standards that were developed to ensure excellence in educator preparation programs. 

“These institutions meet high standards so that their students receive an education that prepares them to succeed in a diverse range of classrooms after they graduate,” said CAEP President Dr. Christopher A. Koch. “Seeking CAEP Accreditation is a significant commitment on the part of an educator preparation provider.”

CAEP is the sole nationally recognized accrediting body for educator preparation. Accreditation is a nongovernmental activity based on peer review that serves the dual functions of assuring quality and promoting improvement. CAEP was created by the consolidation of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education and the Teacher Education Accreditation Council. It is a unified accreditation system intent on raising the performance of all institutions focused on educator preparation. Currently, more than 800 educator preparation providers participate in the CAEP Accreditation system, including many previously accredited through former standards.

Educator preparation providers seeking accreditation must pass peer review on five standards, which are based on two principles:

  1. Solid evidence that the provider’s graduates are competent and caring educators, and
  2. Solid evidence that the provider’s educator staff have the capacity to create a culture of evidence and use it to maintain and enhance the quality of the professional programs they offer.

If a program fails to meet one of the five standards or required components under the standards, it is placed on probation for two years. Probation may be lifted in two years if a program provides evidence that it meets the standard. 

“Our students, faculty and staff, and school partners should be very proud of the work they are doing. We’ve set a very high bar for our teacher preparation program, and CAEP Accreditation validates the hard work we are doing,” said Dr. Jennifer Conner, Division Head of the IUPUC Division of Education

The IUPUC Division of Education joins 45 other providers to receive CAEP Accreditation in Spring 2018. They join the 101 providers previously accredited. Overall, 147 preparation providers from 36 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico have received CAEP Accreditation.

The class of spring 2018 is listed below

Aquinas College—Michigan

Arkansas State University

Ashland University—Ohio

Bluffton University--Ohio

Calvin College—Michigan

Central Baptist College--Arkansas

Concordia University Chicago

Eastern Kentucky University

Eastern Michigan University

Elizabeth City State University—North Carolina

Florida International University

Hiram College—Ohio

Heidelberg University—Ohio

Indiana University-Purdue University—Columbus

Indiana University-Purdue University—Indianapolis

Indiana Wesleyan University

Kean University—New Jersey

Langston University—Oklahoma

Lee University—Tennessee

Marietta College—Ohio

McNeese State University—Louisiana

Molloy College—New York

Morris College—South Carolina

Muskingum University—Ohio

New Jersey City University

New Mexico State University

Northern Illinois University

Pace University—New York

Pittsburg State University—Kansas

St. Louis University—Missouri

St. Mary’s College—Indiana

Seton Hall University—New Jersey

Shepherd University—West Virginia

The College of Wooster—Ohio

Universidad de Puerto Rico de Cayey

Universidad De Puerto Rico De Mayaguez

University of Akron—Ohio                       

University of Arkansas at Little Rock

University of Indianapolis

University of Louisiana at Monroe

University of Maine at Farmington

University of Nebraska at Kearney

University of Rio Grande—Ohio

University of South Carolina

University of Southern Indiana

University of Tennessee at Martin

University of Texas at Arlington

Wichita State University


Contact, Address and Additional Links




Annual Security Report

The Annual Security and Fire Safety Report, containing policy statements, crime and fire statistics for all Indiana University campuses, is available online. You may also request a physical copy by emailing IU Public Safety at or by visiting IUPD.


4601 Central Avenue
Columbus, IN 47203

Phone: 812.348.7311
Donation Icon for IUPUC