2019 ICTM State Math Contest Site Winners Announced

April 26, 2019
The image caption follows

IUPUC was one of 11 statewide hosts for the 2019 Indiana State Math Contest held on April 13, 2019, sponsored by the Indiana Council of Teachers of Mathematics (ICTM). Nearly 60 students participated in the competition, with 17 placing first, second, or third in their respective categories, including two students achieving perfect scores.

The annual competition is open to elementary school, middle school, and high school students across the state who compete in one of five exam categories including Pre-Algebra, Algebra I, Geometry, Algebra II, and Comprehensive, with awards given at both the site and state level. Two students who participated at the IUPUC site achieved perfect scores. Those students are Matthew Liu from Columbus North High School in the Comprehensive Category, and Karthik Varigonda from Central Middle School (Columbus, IN) in the Algebra I category.

In addition to awards for the top three student scores in each category at the site level, Scholar Awards were presented to any student scoring in the top 25% of site-level competitors.

The list of IUPUC site award winners and the schools they attend is as follows:


  • Anubhav Majumdar, Southside Elementary, 1st (tie)/Scholar
  • Nevin Justin, Southside Elementary, 1st (tie)/Scholar
  • Samuel Song, Parkside Elementary, 2nd/Scholar
  • Adrian Perez, Southside Elementary, 3rd (tie)/Scholar
  • Rishab Tirupathi, Southside Elementary, 3rd (tie)/Scholar
  • Ritvik Narula, Southside Elementary, 3rd (tie)/Scholar
  • Atharv Pawar, Southside Elementary, Scholar
  • Ishita Kute, Southside Elementary, Scholar
  • Adrian Chaplin, L. Frances Smith Elementary, Scholar
  • Rishabh Rajesh, Parkside Elementary, Scholar

Algebra I

  • Karthik Varigonda – PERFECT SCORE, Central Middle School, 1st/Scholar
  • Michael Crossman, Parkside Elementary School, 2nd/Scholar
  • Aditya Mohan, Northside Middle School, 3rd/Scholar


  • Darren Li, Northside Middle School, 1st/Scholar
  • Arjun Bhadoria, Northside Middle School, 2nd/Scholar
  • Abinaya Ganesan, Central Middle School, 3rd

Algebra II:

  • Alexander Wilds, Jennings County High School, 1st/Scholar
  • Evan Carr, Columbus North High School, 2nd


  • Matthew Liu – PERFECT SCORE, Columbus North High School, 1st/Scholar
  • Vivek Hebbar, Columbus North High School, 2nd/Scholar
  • Atharva Kute, Columbus North High School, 3rd

Students who scored in the top three for their category at the state level will be invited to the State Awards Ceremony to be held in the Atrium at the Indiana Statehouse in Indianapolis on Friday, June 28th at 1 p.m.

For more information about the competition, contact Leigh Britt, lwbritt@iupuc.edu.

Contact, Address and Additional Links




Annual Security Report

The Annual Security and Fire Safety Report, containing policy statements, crime and fire statistics for all Indiana University campuses, is available online. You may also request a physical copy by emailing IU Public Safety at or by visiting IUPD.


4601 Central Avenue
Columbus, IN 47203

Phone: 812.348.7311
Donation Icon for IUPUC