Dr. J.D. Mendez Named Head of the Division of Science

June 4, 2020
The image caption follows
Effective July 1, 2020, Dr. J.D. Mendez, Associate Professor of Chemistry and Program Coordinator of Chemistry, will serve as the Division Head of Science.  
Since joining IUPUC in 2013, Dr. Mendez has received multiple grants and fellowships including participation in the Teaching/Research Fulbright Scholar Program, participation in the IU short-term exchange program, as well as multiple research grants. Additionally, he was the 2016 recipient of the IUPUC Outstanding Full Time Faculty Teaching Award. 
While at IUPUC, Dr. Mendez has served on several committees including the Student Affairs Committee, the FAR Review Committee, Donor Funded Scholarship Committee, Faculty Senate, UCOL Advisory Council and Reinstatement Committee. In his discipline, he has served on the IAS Senior Grants Committee, and as reviewer of many key journals. He is also a member of the American Chemical Society, and the Indiana Academy of Science.
Dr. Mendez replaces Dr. Joan Poulsen, who will be assuming her new role as Associate Dean of Academic and Student Affairs starting on July 1.