IUPUC Students Selected for the Class of 2022 Indiana AHEC Scholars Program

November 10, 2020
The image caption follows
Three IUPUC nursing students have been selected for the Class of 2022 Indiana AHEC Scholars Program. Those students include:
  • Jessica Barajas (Columbus, IN)
  • Molli Challis (Indianapolis, IN)
  • Tucker Robinson (Indianapolis, IN)

The Indiana AHEC Scholars program is a part of a national initiative to prepare tomorrow’s health professionals to become leaders in interprofessional, transformative practice who serve those who need it the most.

The competitive program is designed specifically for individuals who possess a strong drive to provide care to those living in rural and medically underserved communities across Indiana.

Over the two-year program, AHEC Scholars complete didactic and experiential training opportunities with a focus on rural and urban health care and caring for underserved populations with emphasis on the integration of five core issues – behavioral health integration, cultural competency, interprofessional education, practice transformation, and social determinants of health into practice.

“The Division of Health Sciences is proud of the IUPUC nursing students selected for the AHEC Scholars Program,” said  Dr. Beth Sharer, Head, Division of Health Sciences at IUPUC. “The students’ passion for rural public health is clearly demonstrated in their commitment to improve the health and wellbeing of our communities.” 

For more information about the AHEC Scholars Program contact us at ahecsch@iupui.edu.

About the Indiana AHEC Network

Indiana AHEC Network’s mission is to improve health by recruiting, educating and retaining health care professionals in underserved communities. We work to enhance access to quality health care, primary and preventive care, by improving the supply and distribution of health care professionals through community/academic educational partnerships.